“There’s no food at the bottom of a rainbow” and other shenanigans from a Dublin St. Paddy’s Day

Dear Friends,

This is beginning to feel like that middle school diary that you only wrote in to apologize for having not written.  With that said, I am making sincere efforts to be more up to date with my travels.  Let’s not get ahead of ourselves, though, because this post is about St. Patrick’s Day–only three weeks later.  But I absolutely cannot leave that weekend out of my blog.

Image

The river Liffey lit up for St. Patrick’s Day

That weekend, my mom, Ursula, and twin sister, Anna, came from America to meet me in Dublin, along with Kim (for a three-peat of weekends together!) and several other American friends.  It was so amazing to see mom and Anna after nearly three months apart.  I come from a very tightly knit family, so being away has been wonderful and liberating, but truthfully rather difficult.  I felt so lucky being able to see them while still in Europe–it was pretty surreal.

IMG_0918

Me, Mom, Anna, and Kim reunited (p.s. thanks for that Anna…)

But let’s back up a little bit.  The process of actually getting to Dublin merits a bit of blog space.  Candice and I found really cheap round-trip flights from Rodez, France to Dublin.  In case you were wondering, it’s hard to find any reasonable flight to Ireland on St. Paddy’s weekend, so when we realized that Rodez was only two hours from Montpellier by car, there was no way we could refuse.  Then came the realization that with train routes it would take nearly six hours, and our flight was early in the morning Saturday.  So, we decided to use covoiturage (a paid carpooling network–rather like couch surfing, but cheap and not too sketchy) to go on Friday night.  We knew Rodez would be small, but we were thinking we’d hang out, go to a cafe, find some nail polish at a store and do girly, French countryside type things.  That way we’d have a nice relaxing evening before the craziness of Dublin.  False.

We did, in fact, relax.  But that was only because there was absolutely nothing to do in Rodez, France. Picture those drive-through West Virginia mountain towns that you hesitate to stop in, even for gas and rest stop.   Now put that in a random armpit of France, where literally no one has heard English in their entire lives – or at least not by someone foreign traveling through Rodez.  Thus, you are effectively an alien species and are treated as such. And there you have it.  We somehow found a McDonald’s for dinner and then hid out in our hotel, where the shower was next to the bed and the toilet had a lovely saloon-style door.  See below:

Heeey Candice ;) Hanging Rodez style

Heeey Candice 😉 Hanging Rodez style

Also, the airport was easily the smallest airport I have ever seen in my life.  There were two flights leaving from it that day, and ours was one of them.  Regardless, it was a smooth flight and ultimately worth the hundreds of dollars that we saved. Thank you RyanAir?

Now back to Dublin: It was so amazing to return to one of my favorite places in the world.  In case I haven’t already talked your ear off about it, I studied abroad in Ireland last winter term and I absolutely fell in love with it.  Dublin isn’t the most beautiful city in the world, but you cannot beat the Irish countryside.  And, in all of my travels – which I am truly blessed to say have been extensive – I have never, and likely will never find people who are nicer than those who I have met in Ireland.  They somehow even manage to show up southern hospitality.  Not to mention my fondness for Irish literature, and history, and well, you get the picture…needless to say I was so excited to return to one of my first travel loves.  As soon as I landed all of the fuzzy feelings came back, and I was pleased to find that I hadn’t put it up on too much of a pedestal. Even with the city flooded with tourists, the Irish were just as welcoming as ever, if not more.

Candice and I immediately set out to meet mom, Anna, and Kim at the apartment that we rented for the week.  After a happy and energetic reunion, we then got the celebrations started right away. We bought tons of tacky St. Paddy’s Day goods, a few nicer souvenirs, and then headed to the pub.  I mean, we were in Ireland. On Saint Patrick’s Day weekend.  What do you expect?  Oh, and we also ate at one of our favorite places: The Hairy Lemon.  It is right in the middle of things, and has amazing, traditional Irish food.  And Guinness.

12445837.jpg

The Hairy Lemon

We had so much fun listening to live music, catching up, and celebrating.  We didn’t make it to many of the tourist sites while I was there because the time passed way too quickly.  Thankfully I had seen almost every big site before (Trinity, The Book of Kells, Glendalough, The Jameson Factory, The Zoo, Kilmainham Gaol, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, The Writer’s Museum, you name it..).  That said, we did make an appearance in The Temple Bar area.  We had to experience what St. Paddy’s Day was about amongst swarms of other drunken tourists.  Eventually we sought out more traditional and hidden areas, but it was fun to go for a bit.

Candice and I in Temple Bar

Candice and I in Temple Bar

Also, did I mention that we – and by we, I mean Candice – convinced a taxi driver to take all five of us in his car by explaining that she was a leprechaun, and not a real person?  And leprechauns need food, but there is no food at the bottom of the rainbow.  Clearly he had no choice but to make the sacrifice of illegally dropping us off at Tesco’s….

After those shenanigans, we also checked out the Guinness Factory:

IMG_1002

IMG_0963

A little tired, but nonetheless carrying on the Guinness torch at the gravity bar

We were wiped out after all of the festivities, but the Gravity Bar is probably the best view you will find of Dublin.  It’s an amazing panorama from the top, not to mention the tour and the history of the beer is pretty fascinating.  It’s a cool process, and this beer, unlike almost any other, is an integral part to Irish culture (all Irish drinking jokes aside).

In addition to going to the Guinness Factory, Temple Bar, and The Hairy Lemon, we also made it to The Long Hall, which is one of the more historic pubs in Dublin.  It is also one of a select number of pubs that serves Galway Hooker beer, which is one of my favorites (hooker referring to sailboats, not prostitutes as one might think). For those of you who are into beer tasting, it’s a nice pale ale with a bit of a fruity/caramel twist to it–it’s a kind of like Sweetwater 42o or Sierra Nevada, but I’m pretty sure there are unicorn hairs or something in it as well to make it so good.  In addition to finding Galway Hookers at The Long Hall, we also made some wonderful Swedish friends: Sandra, Therese, and Rebecca. We had so much fun sharing stories and learning about Swedish Traditions (cough cough drinking songs).  We ended up hanging out with them all night on Saint Patrick’s and it was so much fun!  Hopefully we’ll see them again in Sweden, America, or somewhere around the world.

Ultimately it was a wonderful weekend.  I loved catching up with all of my friends and celebrating such a big holiday.

IMG_0948

As anticipated, as much as I love France it was so hard convincing myself to leave.  I am still irrevocably in love with Dublin, and the entire country of Ireland.  But, more importantly, I had no interest in saying goodbye to my mom, Anna, or Kim and friends.  It was really a blessing in disguise that I had to leave at 5 am on Tuesday before I could process what was happening.  Although, it wasn’t too pleasant when “Don’t Forget To Remember Me” came onto my shuffle as I was taxiing into the lovely Rodez, but life goes on.  I’ll be writing more updates on all of the fun that I have been having in France since then, so don’t feel too bad for me.

Until next time, Dublin and friends.  I hope that it will be very soon.

xoxo,

Claire

One thought on ““There’s no food at the bottom of a rainbow” and other shenanigans from a Dublin St. Paddy’s Day

Leave a comment